When the Past Calls…Send it to Voicemail


They say, when the past calls, send it to voicemail…and I did. I really did. But that did not stop the jolt of emotion that ran from my phone through my hands, up my arms and into my heart.

They say, some people come into your life for a season…or for a reason. You were a lesson… like a hope for more, that never happened.

I went to salsa night to dance my cares away…and tried to dance you out of my system in hopes that you would seep out of me like the sweat that collected on my forehead. I tried to lose myself in the drums in hopes that they would drown out the sound of my pounding heart…but they didn’t.

I met men who made love to me with their eyes and with mouths…that formed words which made the English language sound more beautiful than it was ever meant to sound. But still…it did not erase the sound of yours. That voicemail lingered in the back of my head. Your voiced called to me like a flower searching for a ray of sun on a cloudy day. So I finally listened. You still sound as sexy as ever. I should delete your voicemail so I can erase the chains that I have allowed you to construct around me. I tried. I really tried, but I could not bring myself to do it…just yet. Maybe tomorrow…or next week…I will be ready to erase the sound of deep, rich caramel dripping into my ear.

But at least I didn’t call you back…hooray for small victories. I tell myself I am saving your voice for a rainy day…because I know there will be plenty of those to come. And on lonely nights when my fingers are itching to dial your number…I will just call my voicemail instead. And one day…I don’t know when…but I know it will be soon…your calls will no longer be like gravity pulling me into the past.

About ksoranna

Ksoranna is the ideal version of myself. She is me...but better...smarter...funnier...sexier...

Posted on June 5, 2012, in Love Out Loud and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

