And It’s Official…President Obama Re-Elected for the Next 4 Years!


It has just been announced…President Obama will serve his second term in the White House. He has just won the swing state of Ohio…giving him 275 electoral votes vs. Romney’s 203 electoral votes. All around the nation people are holding election viewing parties and they are either full of happy cheers right now or sullen faces trying to hold back tears and anger. And then there are houses like mine, which are filled with mix emotions…with some upset for Romney and others happy for Obama.

Looking back on this election season…one thing I can say is, that this election struck a personal nerve with so many people. I’ve seen family members and friends attacking each other over policies and political views. So glad that is now over. Whoever you vote for is your own prerogative and you can’t decide what is the best choice for another person. This election also had a sense of urgency…that whoever won this election would really decide the economic welfare of a nation. I voted early on Saturday and waited in line for an hour…others reported 2 hr waits…and 3 hour waits…but guess what…we all still waited. This election really showed how much every vote really counts. As a person who had to earn my right to vote, I was honored to be able to take part in such a historic election. This election, I didn’t really vote for myself because I feel like I would have been ok under either administration. As a registered Independent and as person who does not vote along party lines…I went back and forth this whole election season torn between who I would cast my vote for. As a self-employed person with 3 jobs, decent healthcare, a law degree, and secure financial standing…I realized how blessed I am. While I am not rich, I am also not poor, I don’t have kids who need to be fed, I am not affected by abortion laws or gun control or military cut backs or gay marriage…so I decided to vote on behalf of all those who had the most to lose in this election.

I honestly liked the Romney and Ryan team, so I would have welcomed him as President with no hard feelings, but I am also happy to say that I don’t have to. After tonight…my life will continue as usual. I will wake up at whatever time I want to and go in to work whenever I feel like it…I will continue¬† to advocate in D.C. for people who don’t have a voice…I will continue to watch kdramas and blog till all hours of the night…and no matter who leads this great country, I will continue to be free to do so. Keep in mind that whether you are happy or sad regarding the election results, you still live in a great country…and unlike so many other people around this world, you will get to show your approval or criticism for the government when you get the opportunity to cast your vote again in the next 4 years.

About ksoranna

Ksoranna is the ideal version of myself. She is me...but better...smarter...funnier...sexier...

Posted on November 7, 2012, in A Penny for my Thoughts, Hot Topics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 115 other followers

